State Insurance Department Directory

NY State Insurance Department

Reviewed:  May 10, 2016*
*Recent changes in red.

 

New York Department of Financial
Services, Insurance Division,
Life Bureau - 11th Floor

One State Street
New York, NY 10004

New York Department of Financial
Services

One Commerce Plaza
Albany, New York 12257

Phone: (212) 480-6400
Consumer Hotline Phone: (800) 342-3736

Web site:  http://www.dfs.ny.gov/

The Department's email standard is generally:
First Name followed by (dot) followed by Last Name followed by @dfs.ny.gov 
    For example: John.Doe@dfs.ny.gov

STAFF CONTACTS 

Acting Superintendent of Financial Services

        Began Present Term:
        Term of Office:
        Elected/Appointed:
        Prior Vocation:

Maria T. Vullo

January 21, 2016
At pleasure of Governor
Appointed, subject to Senate confirmation
Partner at Paul, Weiss, Rifkind, Wharton & Garrison LLP

Executive Deputy Superintendent
for Insurance

Scott Fischer
Phone: (212) 709-3502
Email: scott.fischer@dfs.ny.gov

Assistant to the Executive Deputy

Daiva Jurys
Phone: (212) 709-3505
Email: daiva.jurys@dfs.ny.gov

Deputy Superintendent for
Insurance

Laura Evangelista
Phone: (212) 480-4738
Email: laura.evangelista@dfs.ny.gov

General Counsel, Insurance
Division

Martha A. Lees
Phone: (212) 480-5282
Email: martha.lees@dfs.ny.gov

SPECIFIC SUBJECTS

 

CAPITAL MARKETS DIVISION 

     Executive Deputy
     Superintendent

 

Maria Filipakis
Phone: (212) 709-1605
Email: maria.filipakis@dfs.ny.gov

Continuing Education

Email: coned@dfs.ny.gov

FINANCIAL FRAUDS & CONSUMER
PROTECTION DIVISION

     Executive Deputy
     Superintendent

     Director of Criminal
     Investigations, Insurance  
     Frauds Bureau
 

    
     Director of Consumer
     Assistance Unit


 

Joy Feigenbaum
Phone: (212) 480-6082
Email: joy.feigenbaum@dfs.ny.gov

Frank Orlando
Phone: (212) 480-5770 
Email: frank.orlando@dfs.ny.gov

Gille Ann Rabbin
Phone: (212) 480-4693
Email: gilleann.rabbin@dfs.ny.gov

HEALTH BUREAU 

     Deputy Superintendent  
     of Health

     

 

Troy Oechsner
Phone: (518) 474-4567
Email: troy.oechsner@dfs.ny.gov

LICENSING BUREAU 

     Director of Insurer Licensing 

Email: licensing@dfs.ny.gov

Jackie Catalfamo
Phone: (518) 486-1809
Email: jackie.catalfamo@dfs.ny.gov

LIFE BUREAU

     Deputy Superintendent
     for Life
 

 

James V. Regalbuto
Phone: (212) 480-5027
Email: james.regalbuto@dfs.ny.gov

     Assistant to the Deputy
     Superintendent

 

     Assistant Deputy
     Superintendent & Chief

     Deputy Chief

    

Carmen Bergman
Phone: (212) 480-5025
Email: carmen.bergman@dfs.ny.gov

Lisa M. Fernéz
Phone: (212) 480-5023
Email: lisa.fernez@dfs.ny.gov

Mark A. McLeod
Phone: (212) 480-4937
Email: mark.mcleod@dfs.ny.gov

     Chief Insurance Attorney



    
Supervising Attorney
     (individual products)


     Associate Attorney
     (group life filings)

     Associate Attorney
     (group annuity filings)

     Associate Attorney
     (individual life and annuity
     filings)

     Senior Attorney
     (group life filings)

     Chief Life Actuary


     Assistant Chief Life Actuary
     (separate account filings and    
     acquisitions/reorganizations)

Peter Dumar
Phone: (518) 474-4552
Email: peter.dumar@dfs.ny.gov

Deborah A. Kahn
Phone: (518) 474-7668
Email: deborah.kahn@dfs.ny.gov

Theresa M. Bobear
Phone: (518) 474-4552
Email: theresa.bobear@dfs.ny.gov

Todd Cafarelli
Phone: (518) 474-4552
Email: todd.cafarelli@dfs.ny.gov

Kathleen Ryan
Phone: (518) 474-4552
Email: kathleen.ryan@dfs.ny.gov

Anne E. McBride
Phone: (518) 474-4552
Email: anne.mcbride@dfs.ny.gov

William B. Carmello, Jr.
Phone: (518) 474-7929
Email: william.carmello@dfs.ny.gov

Roy Mensch
Phone: (212) 480-5018
Email: roy.mensch@dfs.ny.gov

 

 

LIQUIDATION BUREAU (INSURANCE)

     Acting Special Deputy
     Superintendent

 

Vacant


January 7, 2007